chicken with sun dried tomatoes

Lately this has been Tony’s top request, so I made this Saturday night. I wasn’t planning on posting about it, so all I have is this picture which was a second-thought.

I found the recipe on a jar of Bella San Lucci sun dried tomatoes I picked up at Costco once. I never cook with sun dried tomatoes, so it was random that I even bought them. We have made a few changes to the recipe.

Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts
Olive oil
Garlic cloves (I used 8 last night)
1/4 C. sun dried tomatoes, coarsely chopped
Hot red pepper flakes (1/4 tsp. + some for seasoning chicken breast)
1/4 c. dry white wine
3/4 c. chicken broth
1/4 c. skim evaporated milk (I usually need a little more to get the consistency right—this is a lot healthier for you than the cream in original recipe!)
thinly sliced basil

We have found that we like this better when we grill the chicken instead of cook it in the pan with the sauce. Tony seasons the chicken with garlic salt/powder and the red pepper flakes. I put on a pot of water to boil and make whole wheat penne pasta (which I usually pick up for about 20 cents!) While he does that, I heat a pan with a little olive oil (I don’t like measuring things) and saute the garlic, tomatoes, and pepper flakes. We like this heavy on the garlic and pepper, so I don’t really measure that either. Once that is sauteed, add wine and boil until it is reduced to about half, then add broth and bring to a boil. I let that simmer for a little before adding the milk and half the basil. Let this simmer, but stir so the milk doesn’t burn. (Before serving you can put in blender to make it smoother, but I don’t feel like it is worth getting more dishes dirty. I might try it again if I had a food processor.)

By this time, the chicken is off the grill. We slice the chicken, put it on a bowl or plate of penne, and top with the sauce. Then we add parmesan cheese and sprinkle fresh basil on top.

